Congratulations to Tayari Jones for NEA Grant

Tayari Jones has been awarded a 2012 Literature Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts.  This is great news. I saw Jones speak at Politics and Prose this summer as she read from her novel, Silver Sparrow. She struck me as an elegant, intelligent, beautiful, sunny, insightful woman. And, she’s an amazing author.

I took Silver Sparrow with me on my summer writing retreat in Athens, GA. I spent a week working on my novel day and night. And I read her book when I needed a break. Her fleshy characters felt so real to me that I read the book slowly, savoring it, hoping it wouldn’t end. I felt like I was taking a craft class with her that week for just the low cost of one incredible book.

I wish her the best as she works on her fouth novel. I am sure it will be worth waiting for.

Leave a Reply

